Risky Business: How the OCC Dropped the Ball

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CHRG-106hhrg58493/html/CHRG-106hhrg58493.htm

” If an Op. Sub. is defrauding hundreds of elderly people and your rating is satisfactory, what do you have to do to get a bad grade?” ~1999 Question to OCC

“Enough is Enough. Send Them to Jail.” ~ Fortune Magazine Cover, March 2002. Article by Clifton Leaf.

“…banks are operating without meaningful law or enforcement.”
~2005 Letter to OCC

“And what will we tell them? Oops. Sorry. My bad. It’s Just sausage politics.” April 21st, 2006 Article published in Sebring News-Sun & Highlands Today

By 2006, Nobody would believe me that our economy was teetering on the edge. That it was brewing since the War of 1998, and without quick action, we would have a lot of explaining to do to our next generation.

When I wrote “Oops? Sausage Politics”, people asked me “What in the H E Double L were you talking about? Corporations running the Country, spying on boring citizens and a Government putting toxic stuff in Politics that is going to make the next generation outraged? You are so full of BS!!! Shut up already, I’m doing better than any generation and the kids are going to have it made in the shade!”

“Just put it in a drawer someplace. When the money storm hits you, don’t say I didn’t warn you to be prepared” I answered, not real happy I had to do it.

Up to that point, I had only written three letters to the editor in my life. The first I don’t remember why. The second filled up my answering machine, lit up in messages with positive words of encouragement and thanks from complete strangers. The third was about an attack article that the reporter said he wasn’t going to do a battle of wits with me because I was unarmed.

Not that I had to defend against that, probably agreed even, but I needed it clear I was not in any way disrespecting law enforcement.

So media controversy is not something I had or have interest in. It is just I had a nine year study in progress, and if my article helped one person save their hard earned assets I had to try.

Shortly after, Sheriff busted up a *house jacking ring* that as I recall was about 31 properties. Did I help screaming “The sky is falling!” like Chicken Little, or just “threw” my “life with so much potential” away as some well meaning or just mean people enjoy pointing out?

I don’t care. Sometimes, just going along to get along is as evil as the bad guys. My career and life plan, didn’t have a section on what to do if a few crazy bankers pull a coup and capture the country. Sorry, it just really wasn’t on my radar screen in 1997. Apparently, from the above hearing it wasn’t on the OCC’s either if they were accused of dropping the ball in the first quarter.

But dang….still fumbling 6 years later & refuse to let second string states in your game?

They do know a lot of people died or ended up on the streets over this, right?

True perhaps, but a lot of other people got mansions, yachts, and private jets over it so I guess the whole thing balanced out.

Winner takes all I guess in this game. Why do I just feel that the current recovery is more like the “eye” of the $$$ hurricane? Maybe, because the “forecasters” were wrong before. Or lied before.

After all, if all those big shots have been innocent of wrongdoing and it was just a case of “Sh$t Happens”, then Sh$t Can Happen Again. Anytime. Anyplace. And for No Reason.

I rather believe, the Reason, is pretty well crystal clearly discussed in the 1999 transcript.

– Barbara Cochlin

Leave a Reply

